PH ban on 10 countries extended to 05 September


Travel ban on passengers from ten countries have been extended to 05 September to curb spread of COVID-19 variants that are found to be more contagious.


MANILA — The extended travel restrictions on India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Thailand, Malaysia, and Indonesia was approved by President Rodrigo Duterte.

“These travel restrictions form part of the pro-active measures to slow down the rising number of COVID-19 cases, stop further spread of variants, and increase the country’s existing healthcare capacity,” says presidential spokesperson Harry Roque Jr in a statement.

Travel restrictions from most of these countries have been enforced as early as 29 April with the addition of more as new variants have been detected.

Filipinos returning from these countries, however, are not covered by the ban. They will be subject to quarantine and testing protocols when they arrive. (RA/JuanManila)

Recommended Posts